Question:
IBuyPower Question
Okay, I think I've pretty much decided on an Asus S96J - the only problem is, which reseller? I've been looking around and IBuyPower has one that can be outfitted for an extremely reasonable price while maintaining the specs that I want. Only problem is that they don't offer a 7200 rpm harddrive - I'm not sure how important this is anyway or how much I'd notice the difference between that and the 5400 rpm. If anyone has any experience with Ibuypower or another recommended retailer, please chime in. Thanks in advance!
Answer:
Re: IBuyPower Question
check out their ratings at resellerratings.com. they have a good overall score, but if you look at their breakdown, everything except price is poorly rated.
i would recommend geared2play.com, powernotebooks.com, or gentechpc.com for some reputable resellers.
Answer:
Re: IBuyPower Question
While I have not dealt with ibuypower.com directly, they are a sister company of cyberpowerpc.com. I posted this as a warning to ToR who was considering buying from cyberpowerpc... (I would just link it, but I don't know how to do that)
"UGH... good luck ToR... may the laptop actually work for you. I ordered from cyberpower last year... and the sucky thing is, the estimated times they give you are complete bull. The stuff arrived way after it was supposed to. To top it off for me, they did not tell me the monitor was backordered so I had to wait forever to get that in (I bought a desktop). I have only heard worse things about their laptop service. They also cheated me out of a minimum of $40. I have spent countless hours with tech support with them, and that has been an altogether unpleasant experience. They treated me like I was a complete idiot and one guy (I have forgotten his name) actually started raising his voice at me even though he was in the wrong. They put ram in the wrong spots in my motherboard and the video card was not installed correctly. If I were you, after you get this laptop, take it apart and put it back together... even if you have no idea what you are doing, there is a high chance that it will be in better shape. I would not and will not work with cyberpower ever again. Even if the laptop were $500 elsewhere... it would be with it for me not to have the headache. I have not ordered from powernotebooks or gentech yet, but I can't even imagine that anyone can be worse than cyberpower. Man... I honestly wish you the best of luck. I cannot afford to gamble over $1,000."
Answer:
Re: IBuyPower Question
ibuypower and cyberpower are not sister companies.
They do advertise in the same magazines, they do share a lot of the same models and they do use the same software for their websites.
But theyre not actually related. They are both in southern california. I mean they are not totally unrelated but they are not the same company is all Im trying to point out. I looked into it back in the day.
Answer:
Re: IBuyPower Question
Well, I'm sorry if they aren't. I still have my suspicions. I do know absolutely for sure that xtremegear and cyberpower are sister companies. (buyxg.com and cyberpowerpc.com) and after finding this out, I would not be surprised at all to find out for sure that ibuypower was associated with cyberpower in some way. I guess I find it suspicious that ibuypower also offers age of empires III for free with the purchase of an AMD system...they also offer a 5% discount, they don't offer a 7200rpm hard drive for the S96J... it's not only that the two companies offer the same systems, but they offer the same options too. If they aren't sister companies, I will look foward to seeing how the lawsuit between them goes, because one of them has to be violating some sort of law since they are both so ridiculously similar.
Basically, I'm saying if they aren't sister companies, they are great friends. Otherwise there would have to be some legal tension between them.
Answer:
Re: IBuyPower Question
yes those two companies are related yes.
They have like different owners different staff and i bet they have different ratings on whatever you like to follow, but they are sister companies. One just buys the laptops from the other one.(xtremegear and cyberpower)
But ibuypower is a different company in a different city. Sells different stuff, different price
Now youre definitely right. Something somewhere is common. Im not saying that exactly. But its not that they are the same company they are actually competing.
a supplier upstream of both of these companies is common, this is obvious. however you will notice their machines are literally different looking and different priced. not like the first two companies those two are exactly the same.
their lineup is different. I mean, ok look a little more closely it will be apparent.
i know its puzzling but thats the way it is lol Im just trying to be clear. two are closely related and one is not.
Answer:
Re: IBuyPower Question
Lol, I know what you are saying, and I can see some differences. Cyberpower may not be ibuypower, but I still there there has to be some sort of link between the two. Maybe not one that we can see, which is why I will refer to them as friend companies. Lol... I just don't understand how the two can actually be competing hardcore. Oh well, listen to stamar, he knows what he is talking about a lot more than I do. (buyxg.com has the same address in the contact area as cyberpower)